About Chakras

The word Chakra (pronounced: CHUCK-rah) is Sanskrit for “wheel” or “disk”. The Chakras signify one of seven basic energy or prana centers in the body. Each of these centers correlates to major nerve ganglia branching forth from the spinal column. In addition, the chakras also correlate to levels of consciousness, archetypal elements, developmental stages of life, colors, sounds, body functions, etc.

1st Chakra - "The Root"

Also known as: Muladhara
Primary color: Red
Secondary color: Black
Elements: Earth
Identity: Self-preservation

This is the Base Chakra. It is located at the base of the spine, specifically in the region between the genitals and the anus. This chakra forms our foundation. It represents the element earth, and is therefore related to our survival instincts and to our sense of grounding and connection to our bodies and the physical plane. When healthy, this chakra brings us health, prosperity, security, and dynamic It is said the kundalini lies coiled here, ready to uncoil and bring man to his highest spiritual potential in the crown chakra.presence.

Kundalini is Sanskrit for "snake" or "serpent power", so-called because it is believed to lie like a serpent in the root chakra at the base of the spine. The power of kundalini is said to be enormous. Those having experienced it claim it to be indescribable. The phenomena associated with it varies from bizarre physical sensations and movements, pain, clairaudience, visions, brilliant lights, superlucidity, psychic powers, ecstasy, bliss, and transcendence of self. Kundalini has been described as liquid fire and liquid light.

2nd Chakra - "The Navel"

Also known as: Svadhishthana
Primary color: Orange
Secondary color: Amber
Elements: Water
Identity: Self-gratification

This is the Sacral Chakra. It is located in the groin. It is related to the emotions and sexuality. It connects us to others through feeling, desire, sensation, and movement. When healthy, this chakra brings us fluidity and grace, depth of feeling, sexual fulfillment, and the ability to accept change.

3rd Chakra - "The Solar Plexus"

Also known as: Manipura
Primary color: Yellow
Secondary color: Amber
Elements: Fire
Identity: Self-definition

This is the Solar Plexus Chakra, also known as the Power Chakra. It is located in the solar plexus. It is related to our personal power, will, and autonomy, as well as our metabolism. When healthy, this chakra brings us energy, effectiveness, spontaneity, and non-dominating power.

4th Chakra - "The Heart"

Also known as: Anahata
Primary color: Green
Secondary color: Pink
Elements: Air
Identity: Self-acceptance

This is the Heart Chakra and is the middle chakra in a system of seven. It is located in the center of the chest. It is related to love. A healthy fourth chakra allows us to love deeply, feel compassion, have a deep sense of peace and centeredness.

5th Chakra - "The Throat"

Also known as: Vishuddha
Primary color: Aqua
Secondary color: Turquoise
Element: Sound
Identity: Self-expression

This is the Throat Chakra and is located there. It is related to communication and creativity. Here we experience the world symbolically through vibration, such as the vibration of sound representing language.

6th Chakra -"The Third Eye" (or brow)

Also known as: Ajna
Primary color: Dark (cobalt) blue
Secondary color: Blue
Element: Light
Identity: Self-reflection

This is the Brow Chakra or Third Eye. It is located in the center of the forehead. It is related to the act of seeing, both physically and intuitively. It opens our psychic faculties and our understanding of archetypal levels. When healthy, it allows us to see clearly, in effect, letting us "see the big picture."

7th Chakra - "The Crown"

Also known as: Sahasrata
Primary color: Purple
Secondary color: Clear (or white)
Element: Thought
Identity: Self-knowledge

This is the Crown Chakra. It is located on the top of the head. It relates to consciousness as pure awareness. It is our connection to the greater world beyond, to a timeless, spaceless place of all-knowing. When healthy, this chakra brings us knowledge, wisdom, understanding, spiritual connection, and bliss.

© 2000-2011 Neon Husky, LLC, all rights reserved